Home > Reviews > God’s Not Dead: I personally experienced persecution for religion

God’s Not Dead: I personally experienced persecution for religion

Marta from Texas provided an interesting perspective in her great review of “God’s Not Dead.” Many thanks, Marta!

I LOVED the movie, “God’s Not Dead,” and cannot thank Kevin and Sam Sorbo enough for standing up for their beliefs against the Hollywood hypocrisy.

I was very fortunate that several movie theaters showed “God’s Not Dead” during opening weekend. Coincidentally, it was also our wedding anniversary weekend. The movie made our anniversary weekend special.

1622670_746743735346156_1178149111_nIt was the most inspiring movie I have ever seen. Growing up in a religious family behind the Iron Curtain, I personally experienced persecution for religion. We had to hide our faith or face life-altering consequences, such as the inability to attend college or get a job. I often got in trouble in school for attending church. I am sharing these personal details about myself, because it explains why I was able to relate to the story and Josh’s character.

I found the movie extremely well-written (and) full of surprises and occasional humor. I was laughing one minute and crying another.

The actors did a superb job portraying the characters. Kevin Sorbo as Professor Radisson was just as scary as any mean university professor while showing a softer side in paulthe powerful scenes when his Christian past was revealed. Shane Harper was amazing as the determined college student. One of my favorite characters was the Chinese exchange student, Martin Yip (Paul Kwo), as his religious beliefs developed.

The ending of the movie was very unexpected.

I believe that moviegoers of every faith and those without faith will be challenged by this movie to evaluate or re-evaluate their faith. The central message of the importance of choice in the matter of religious beliefs especially resonated with me because of my past experiences.

Overall, I would recommend this movie to all ages, all faiths, all backgrounds.

(Images and video courtesy of “God’s Not Dead” movie)

  1. rhondagemini
    April 2, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Thank you for your story,Marta,and your review of the movie! God bless you for your strong stance! Jan,thanks for posting this!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

