Home > Kevin Stories > Linda T’s amazing story part 1

Linda T’s amazing story part 1

This is in three parts. Please read subsequent posts:

My husband, Steven and I got married in 1992; we both had been married before, and more than anything wanted to have children. After years of trying to get pregnant nothing happened, so went to a doctor to find out what was wrong. Tests showed that I no longer made eggs as I was 42 years old when I married Steven; he is a few years younger than me.

By this time I was 45 years old, so we set our minds to trying to adopt. In 1996 we were finally matched with two children, but it was an “at risk” placement, which meant that the birth mother had signed away her rights to the children, but the father had not, but they did not think we would have problems with that and the courts would terminate his rights to the kids, so we brought the children home.

Michael was 3 and Melissa was 9 months at the time we got them in February, 1997. We had them for 3 months, and just as the courts were about to terminate the father’s rights, he came back to claim his children. They were taken from us and we tried to fight for custody, but the court felt that blood was thicker than water. The father all of 18 years old and no job; we were an older couple that could give the children a great life.

To make matters worse the father had another child that was age 2 years old with his current wife. The courts did make him find a job in order to keep custody of the children or they would be placed with us. So, he did find a job and we lost the kids. I was so upset I took to my bed. This was sometime in the summer (or) early fall of 1997. I felt I would never be a mother and have a child to love again. I would lie in bed and just channel surf.

LindaTIMG_4840One day I found a show that caught my interest. It was “Hercules” with Kevin Sorbo, just watching him made me feel better. (I’m) not sure what it was about him that made me feel good. I started looking for the show, and another one that I enjoyed was “Xena, Warrior Princess” as I adored Kevin Smith who played Ares, too. The shows made me want to live.

Then good news came from our lawyer that since we can no longer adopt, why didn’t we try surrogacy? I set my mind on finding the right agency to match us with the proper person to give us a child. I did a lot of research and finally found an agency that was in Denver, CO. They tried to match us with two ladies before they found the perfect one for us in August of 1998.

We first did a phone match and she sounded perfect to us. Then we all had to fly to Denver to meet, and when we met it was like we were long-lost family members. We all felt very comfortable together; her name is Angela, and I told her I searched the world for an Angel and God sent me an Earth-bound angel named Angela, (who) was married at the time and had a 3-year-old son. By the time we got all the paperwork and contracts out of the way it was 1999, and in July we started with the first Artificial Inseminations, or AI, as they are called in the infertility world. It did not take, and she was as heartbroken as I was.

We tried again in August, still no luck. We skipped September as she wanted to take a vacation, so we would try again in October, and this time it worked. In the meantime, her husband left her alone as a single mom trying to raise her son, so now more than ever she needed to do this for us as she could use the money. He left her just before the first AI in July.

On November 4th she called and told me ,”We’re Pregnant!” I was so excited (that) I called Steven right away at work to tell him the news. Then for the next 9 months I went to every single prenatal visit and was there for the sonogram. Both my husband and I were in the delivery room when “our” son was born on July 6th, 2000. I became a mom at age 49.

He is the most precious gift any one could have given me, and I just feel if it had not been for watching “Hercules” and finding some hope in the world, I would have just let myself die. I hope you understand how special I feel about Kevin Sorbo. I became a huge fan of his, and when he started on “Andromeda,” I watched every episode of that show at least two or three times if not more as I taped the shows and played them back several times and kept the tapes till I replaced them with DVDs.

  1. sorbowriter
    August 11, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Thank you for sharing this, Linda. It makes me cry every time I read it!

  2. Cathy
    September 26, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    This is such a beautiful story to come out of despair Linda. I am so pleased that you got through your pain and have your child to cherish.

  3. Alison Rhem
    April 20, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I am so glad you finally got your child to love. Being a mother has been one of the most precious and joyous things I have done in my life. I have no idea what I would have done without my daughter. There is nothing like mother’s love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

