Home > Artwork, Friends Stories, Kevin Stories > Take a bow, Mr. Kevin Sorbo!

Take a bow, Mr. Kevin Sorbo!

Courageous Cathy from Scotland tells her must-read story and offers excellent advice for domestic violence victims:

When “Hercules” and “Andromeda” aired for the first time in the UK I wasn’t watching them. I was in an abusive marriage, but had a very successful career. If I ever had the time to watch television, which was rare, I was simply not permitted to watch anything that my husband did not like.

In 2005 with the help of a wonderful Company Chairman, Womensaid, and the Police, I took a brief opportunity and ran away with my children into a refuge. I never went back. I left my job and struggled with the aftermath, which included periods of depression.

I worked at building a new life, but had horrid problems regaining proper residency of all my children after my daughter was taken by my ex.

In summer 2008 I was unable to work not knowing if and when my daughter would be back with me. The weather was horrid and I wanted to be in the house in case she turned up. I tidied ‘til there was no more to tidy then had to resort to something else.

I took to the sofa and started to investigate the T.V. channels, and watched an assortment of programmes, most of which were simply dreadful – until I found a rerun of “Andromeda.” I was bowled over; the episodes were engrossing and they made me smile.

My daughter’s best friend was also lonely and was going through some tough family times, and, after several short visits, she invited herself around for the duration of the holidays.

So there we were, curled up on the sofa, cup of tea and biscuits, me just waiting for the next “Andromeda” episode, slightly embarrassed at asking her if she minded me watching this strange sci fi series! But, she loved it instantly, and after a couple of episodes I was badgered into buying the first two series (well, it didn’t really take much persuasion). ‘Course, then we had to get the rest….

She loved Harper, and I was particularly taken with Dylan Hunt (OK and Rhade!). 

DylanouterspacecopyHer mother took to coming over with cooked dinner for us. Her mum and I got a rapport going. The sheer escapism of “Andromeda” got me (and daughter’s friend) through by giving us “somewhere else” to go.

I  also finally realized that I could do and watch what I liked and LIKE it – and I didn’t need to ask anyone’s permission!

I went on the internet and discovered all things “Andromeda:” Kevin Sorbo, Steve Bacic, Lexa Doig, etc., but also found out about Kevin Sorbo’s work and family. I started to save for his films, and as I bought each one I found I enjoyed it, too. I read about his work for WFIT which inspires me. It is a superb charity and he works hard for it .

I started to watch “Andromeda” and other Kevin Sorbo vids on Youtube and got to know some of the community there. I got bolder and made a couple of my own vids!

Gradually, one thing led to another, and I found that there is a whole bunch of amazing, funny, supportive and bright people out there who are Kevin Sorbo fans and they make me smile a lot, too. They introduced me to the world of Twitter where I enjoy Kevin Sorbo’s tweets. So now I’m in the fan club, too! I’ve never met Kevin; I hope I will one day, but I guess in the end it is enough that he is just himself, doing what he does. Because of that, I now know that I am free to be MYSELF.

The break between best friend’s family and her seems to have worked wonders; she is very bubbly and happy (normal teen pressures aside) – she and I are still very close and both us mums are best friends with open house for each other’s children. Daughter’s friend and I still sneak a re-watch or new Kevin movie occasionally.

I have my daughter back full time. I’m calm and happy in a part-time, minimum wage job helping others, and have decided to follow things where they lead. I am discovering new friends, new programmes, new interests. I remember that there are good family men out there still.

I bet not many can attribute so much healing to one programme and one actor – take a bow, Mr. Kevin Sorbo!

Additional note: I am always worried whether I should share my story. I keep reminding myself that without the support of the police and Womensaid and the events above, I would not be here writing this now. Sometimes I am still ashamed that I could have put up with abuse from my husband when I was capable of arguing with the toughest businessmen… And there’s the crux of it: Being a victim of domestic abuse is nothing to be ashamed of, and with the right support there IS a way out.

There are excellent online resources at http://www.womensaid.org.uk, which include advice on how to help those you think may be victims and on covering your tracks on the internet. For local support, libraries, healthcentres, and phone books are good places to find local practical help, such as drop in centres and refuges. Domestic abuse is found in all types of relationships, including single sex relationships. Support networks know this and take equal care whatever the circumstances. 

(Artwork by Carmen L.)

  1. sorbowriter
    August 12, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Cathy. That takes a lot of courage. Many women, as you know, do not speak of it for fear of chastisement and other reasons. I truly admire you for this.

  2. Carmen Lily
    August 12, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    I’m really touched by your story, Cathy! You are a brave person and I feel very honnored for having one of my collages here today. And I must say, one of my favorites! Just like you I’m a big fan of Dylan. Hugs, sweetie!

  3. teresa
    August 13, 2009 at 2:51 am

    hello cathy, your story is incredible, but I always say that Kevin Sorbo is natural, you know that Kevin plays golf in Scotland from September 30 to day 4 or 5 I think I would like to get in touch.

  4. August 13, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I do agree with Sorbowriter, Cathy.
    Thank you so much for sharing your especial story with us!
    kisses, my friend.

    • cathy
      August 13, 2009 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you all for your comments and all the wonderful support you have given me – It is that kindness and care I have experienced and written about.
      I am honoured to have Carmen’s artwork with my story.
      There are so many talented artists within this group and one of my pleasures is to look at that work, even when it isn’t Sorbo-related!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

