Home > Artwork, Kevin Stories > Kevin’s optimism shines through – that’s why we love him!

Kevin’s optimism shines through – that’s why we love him!

Liz’s words, so sweet… Thanks, Liz!

My name’s Liz and I live in the far northeast of Scotland. I have never been lucky enough to see Kevin Sorbo in real life, but that has not lessened my respect and admiration for him as a very talented actor and an extremely caring human being. And I feel very grateful for the help he gave me through a very bad time – although he never knew he gave it!

I came late as a fan. Until 2001 I had never seen or even heard of Kevin Sorbo. Then I was diagnosed with a potentially deadly illness and had to have major emergency surgery. Recovery was a long, slow and tedious business. I was feeling frightened and very sorry for myself, and I seemed to have lost the art of sleeping. Many nights I crept back downstairs to watch T.V. alone in the small hours of the night so as not to disturb the family.

DylansparkscopyThen one night/early morning I caught a SciFi show that had exciting action, great SFX, a decent plot/script and a very good looking lead with a beautiful voice. For a while I forgot everything else, lost in this future world of a sentient ship and the adventures of her ragtag crew. I was hooked on “Andromeda” and in love with Captain Dylan Hunt!

So I started to find out what I could about this actor Kevin Sorbo – much easier to do now with the internet! And this, of course, led me to “Hercules: The Legendary Journeys.”

I loved the gentle humour and the positive messages. Every time the “Hercules” theme started to play I had to smile; you just knew that however dark things seemed, Herc was about to put things right for the rest of the world if not for himself. And in a weird way, it helped me feel more positive, too.

I still have to smile when I think about that optimistic theme – a great pick-me-up when feeling down!

So, as well as being in love with Dylan, I now adored Hercules – and I became a dedicated fan of Kevin Sorbo.Hercandhorse_01SM

As my DVD collection continued to grow, I admired both the actor and his work more and more. And as I learned more about the man and his charity work I admired him as a person, too.

Now, I would not suggest that Kevin can claim healing the sick as one of his many talents! But, quite unknowingly, he certainly helped me through a very dark and lonely time by giving me something positive to think about and a place to go in my imagination when reality got too tough. And I will always be very grateful to him for that.

I have been clear now for eight years, but life is still full of problems and I still use Kevin and his work as an escape, a fun break from reality. I seem to become a more dedicated fan with every film Kevin makes – and from the other stories here: I am not alone.

So, Kevin, please accept my heartfelt thanks for being so generous with your talent that you even help people you’ve never met!

(Artwork by Carmen and Hercules Hunt)

  1. teresa
    August 26, 2009 at 4:49 am

    exciting story, I always say jokingly that Kevin Sorbo is natural medicine, and I think that is true

  2. Cathy
    August 26, 2009 at 4:59 am

    I am so glad Liz is here to tell us her story. Kevin’s roles have been a real force for positive so lets hope we never hear the words ‘just an actor’ again!
    Lovely artwork from Carmen and Hercules Hunt too.

  3. Carmen L.
    August 27, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Another beautiful story. Thanks for sharing, Liz!
    And thanks for all the kind words about my artwork. I’m just learning…
    Hugs to all of you, Kevin fans!!!!!

  4. September 16, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Liz, thanks for sharing your story. I have a similar health crisis story that Kevin’s upbeat and caring nature helped me get through and still is… Jan keeps telling me to tell it here-I will try… But honestly… You really covered what I feel and several others I know who, when they feel like they can’t get out of bed in the morning, watching some Hercules or Andromeda makes the day much brighter for them and they get up and get on with life… AND… 08/26/2009 at 4:49 am

    Teresa said,
    “exciting story, I always say jokingly that Kevin Sorbo is natural medicine, and I think that is true.” I couldn’t agree more, well said… and beautiful artwork, Carmen, keep them coming when you have time… All The Best Gina

  5. Alison Rhem
    April 10, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story. I know how hard it is to tell a story like this but also know how much Kevin the actor and man has helped me now and in the past years that I have been a fan. He is a genuinely good actor and man.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

