Home > Artwork, Friends Stories > To Kevin: what drives this blog…

To Kevin: what drives this blog…

KEVINTRANSCEI have experienced several hardships this year, as has everyone else in the world. For those who haven’t kept track: I lost three close friends, my full time job, two of three steady writing gigs, and my beloved 19-year-old kitty, Puzzles… and it’s only September!

My pain is nothing special… people suffer much worse daily, so I am grateful that I live. My admiration and compassion goes to those of you who deal with physical ailments and emotional traumas that you have so generously expressed here on this blog, and those who choose to keep things to themselves.

Still, that does not make loss any easier.

Silly of me to say that I am reluctant to tell you my Kevin stories when I encourage you to be forthcoming with yours. “Do as I say, not as I do,” as the saying goes. So, I will make this brief…

Regarding the aforementioned losses, one of which happened suddenly this past weekend, I have been speaking with Gina (see her previous story) and laying my burdens on her shoulder. I have been whining to her about my petty problems when she has so many things on her plate already.

Talking to her on the phone, hearing her upbeat, cheerful voice and extreme optimism made me feel better, though not at first. When a couple of not so great things happened to me, she stated that watching Kevin and looking at his smiling face cheered her when she was down. She was so positive and such an ardent fan! But I was dubious…

I have studied existentialism, Freudian psychology, and all the other –isms and –ologies one expects from anherculenetc extensive liberal arts education. I have hoped for the best, but expected the worst… And to me the worst has seemed to come true…

When more not so great things happened so close to the others, I truly felt like the cosmos hated me. Then I talked to Gina again about everything, yet our conversations seemed to return to Kevin: his confidence, kindness, and, of course, good looks (well, I’m not dead, for heaven’s sake!).

She distracted me, or so I thought, by speaking of him and how he helped her with whatever she was dealing with, which I hope she will outline further here. I remained skeptical, but soon realized she was right. Talking with her about Kevin, his fine work, and what a good guy he is actually made me forget my troubles as he made her forget about hers.

In summation, I want to say thank you to Gina, who believes in the power of hope, and to Kevin, who gave it to her and now to me!

My humble gratitude, Kevin…                                               (Artwork by Debora and Charline)

  1. September 16, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Dear Jan, thank you for sharing your story! So sorry for your losses, my friend!
    I believe your life has changed and new friends are coming around and that´s only the beginning of an entire new life ahead! So glad you´ve got Gina and Kevin to help you!
    And now you´ve got us all! And you are a strong woman!
    Cheer up, dear sagitarian, life is a trip!
    kisses, my friend!

  2. September 16, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Awww Jan… you made me cry as I read this… I’m glad I was able to help you feel better, by telling you how Kevin helps me feel better when I’m having tough times… He has such Big Heart. He’s so kind, caring and thoughtful that he helps us fans without even knowing he is. And you can call me anytime you need an ear to bend or a shoulder to lean on… I’m always here for you Hon… Even though you’ll probably say, “No you can’t or won’t do that.” Stop it! LOL After all what are friends for if not to help you when you need to talk. BIG HUGS & BUNCHES OF LOVE MY FRIEND, Gina

  3. Carmen L.
    September 16, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    You really made me cry, my friend! Thanks for sharing your story! ((((hugs)))

  4. September 19, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Jan I think no matter where we find our strength, our motivation to keep going, all that matters is that we DO find it. Many won’t understand how a “star” or someone they’ve never met can affect you for the better, but we know differently, and thanks to YOU we can SHARE it here. Seems Dr. Sorbo has affected many more than he knows, but then again – so have you. We’re all connected.

  5. Kiara Dalby
    September 21, 2009 at 5:47 am

    This is a beautiful story!

  6. sorbowriter
    September 22, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Thanks for your kind support and lovely comments, everyone. I’m glad I came “out of the closet,” so to speak, as a Kevin fan from years of lurking… since the old Herc chat days, actually. Because of him I am meeting so many great people and making wonderful, caring friends.

    It is truly an honor to have you read and support this blog, our blog, so that we may continue to forge international friendships, understanding, and compassion.

    Dr. Kevin does it again… woohooo!

  7. Alison Rhem
    April 20, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Nice to hear your story for a change. You will never know how much your compassion and caring has helped me and through you and Kevin I have made special friends that have passed on that caring. Through laughter and tears we will all make it through.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

