Home > Artwork, Kevin Stories > Dr. Kevin Sorbo does it again!

Dr. Kevin Sorbo does it again!

Cathy in New Jersey sent this miraculous tale:

DR. SORBO SAVES THE DAY

HE was only 40 minutes from my home, the MAN of MEN, the only male who could reduce me to a mass of Jello. A half-hour away! Now, what do I wear? Then it hit me…

Rewind: Several years back I’d lost the use of my legs because of a nerve condition called neuropathy caused by standing 12 hours a day in my job. Stuck in a wheelchair in 1996, I discovered T.V. again, and there it was – “Hercules: The Legendary Journeys.” Need I say more?

Then around 2002 I discovered computers, and between the two I spent many happy hours looking at Kevin, reading about Kevin, doing more looking at Kevin, lol! and mostly, wheeling my chair up to the computer and talking to a lovely lady who ran a website for Kevin Sorbo fans like me, utterly addicted for life.

There was something about this guy past his looks, the things he’d say and do that told me he was genuine and so un-Hollywood. Back then there was very little name recognition, few people heard of him though they knew the program, and I couldn’t find any pictures or posters. I thought I was the only one admiring this beautiful man with the unique voice – I’d never heard another sound like it! Very masculine yet sweet, witty, with a hint of playful humor – like a little kid. When called for however, Kevin Sorbo had the most manly voice I’ve ever heard. Anyway, my brother found a poster and I still have it.

Back to that day: It was sometime in early 2000 when I was told he’d be in New Jersey very close to Newark where I live. This was too incredible for words, nothing could keep me away – or so I thought. I called my medi-transport van people and gave them the particulars, where I was going and how URGENT it was. I was getting giddy.

When they discovered it wasn’t medically related, however, they said no. OH NOOOO!!! Okay, I thought, many buses take wheelchair-bound people, right? Of course they do! I called New Jersey Transit, but they said I’d have to be at a certain bus stop at a certain time, etc. It was all too much to work out and still get to the con before it was over. I knew it would be a long wait, a long line to see Kevin, just a total mess for me because of the darn chair.

Heck, I was ready to crawl just to tell Kevin Sorbo he was the best thing to hit the screen since… well, ever. I wanted SO much to see him. I had my pennies saved, and no matter what it took I’d do it. But when nothing else cooperates with you, it can end sadly, as it did for me; Mr. Sorbo left New Jersey before I could even try a taxi.

Talk about self-pity – I was full of it. “Poor me” was all I could mutter for days. Even my friends, who understood my adoration of this guy, thought I was being too morose.

“Oh, he’ll be back to Jersey, you’ll see Cathy. Don’t look so ugly about this!”

I really DID look frightful, plain mean, super-sad, acting like I’d never smile again.

I was ready to give up and just get used to that darn wheelchair, not doing my exercises, not making those attempts to stand; not even trying. What a mess I let myself become.

Then, my friend who had this website offered to get me an autographed picture of Kevin when she went to his next convention. This friend attended every con she could that had Kevin, so I was grateful and said, yes, of course. I picked out the picture I wanted him to sign, a special one she herself took, but I kneStandandwalkbebrave copyw she was really just trying to cheer me up – she knew about my physical condition and was always considerate and friendly.

When she asked what I’d like Kevin to write, I told her something about getting up and walking, being strong and brave, all that good stuff. Truly, I didn’t expect any of it to happen.

About a month later I got this envelope in the mail. Tearing it open I pulled out this beautiful picture of that amazing man and almost fainted. It was Kevin Sorbo himself ORDERING up these words:

“CATHY – STAND AND WALK!! BE BRAVE! xx Kevin Sorbo”

Holy heck, he did it; he signed a picture of himself staring straight out at me, which was taken by my friend and had Kevin pointing straight into the camera. It was the picture I wanted! But those words, they just hit me like a punch on a velvet curtain. That’s the magic of Kevin Sorbo.

Now, here’s the real magic: I framed that picture, put it right where I could see it from my chair by the bed, and each time I’d pull myself up and grab the walker, I’d look directly into Kevin’s ocean blue eyes, read those incredible words, and even if I couldn’t make it, I’d try again. And again. For weeks. For months. Because Kevin Sorbo told me to!!

It took six to eight months to be able to use only the walker, and my doctors just shook their heads. After a year I was using only a cane. To this day, that’s all I need.

When I look at that picture, of all the pictures I’ve seen of this man, it reminds me of the strength we have inside and may not know about. It reminds me of the kind of caring that can come from someone who hadn’t even met you. It reminds me that people need people.

In the years since those days I’ve opened a mentoring program and made something better of my life, which could’ve had such a different outcome. Credit where it’s due: Kevin Sorbo helped me understand something very basic: We’re all connected.

  1. LizJo25
    October 3, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    What an amazing story! Thank you for sharing with us. Kevin Sorbo – only an actor….Hah! The man is an inspiration to so many of us, even those who have never met him. As well as providing hours of innocent enjoyment through his film and TV work, of course.

    LizJo25

    • December 30, 2009 at 7:16 am

      Isn’t it strange how anything can happen? But this! To this day it still amazes me and though I’m a true fan of him and his work, I now have another more important reason to be grateful – I’m a fan for life.

  2. Hercules Hunt
    October 3, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Well Cathy, that’s a wonderful story about KS inspiration! Sad you missed him but I’m sure you’ll get to meet him one day. And good for you, I’m glad you can walk again 🙂

    • December 30, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Thanks HH, I can always hope – so many things happen you can’t predict it amazing!

  3. Linda T
    October 4, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Great story I hope Cathy got to meet Kevin in person for herself now that she can walk again.

    • December 30, 2009 at 5:48 am

      Thanks Linda, you never know eh? I can hope!

  4. October 4, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Oh Cathy thyank you for sending us your moving story!
    You ARE a brave woman! Kevin knew it!
    Thank you Jan for posting it!
    Kisses, darlings, love the photo, love it, it´s so special indeed!

    • December 30, 2009 at 5:50 am

      Thank you, too Mara for so much you and many others do to remind this unique guy how devoted we fans are!

  5. sorbowriter
    October 4, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Cathy. I hope that one day you will indeed get to meet him. We’re all crossing our fingers that this will come true for you!

    • December 30, 2009 at 7:19 am

      And MY gratitude to you for making this possible! I’ve enjoyed reading each and every story, it just makes me realize how unique this guy is. What do you think: “Kevin Sorbo for President – for LIFE!” Thanks again 🙂

  6. October 15, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    O thank you dear sweet people! Isn’t it amazing how one person can affect another, and they don’t even realize it? Kevin Sorbo is as good as they get!

  7. Kirsten(RainbowChakra)
    October 16, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Cathy, that is such an amazingly beautiful story. Thank you for sharing it, it made my day xx

    • December 30, 2009 at 7:20 am

      Well Kirsten, it made your day but made my life – alot more easier. Thanks for commenting!

  8. Carmen
    October 16, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    It’s a wonderful story, Cathy! So we were right, Kevin Sorbo is like “natural medicine”!/

  9. December 30, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Absolute, Carmen, and the only Rx we need, eh? It’s so weird I mean, this was something I never thought could happen, so you never know how someone can change your life.

  10. teresa
    April 11, 2010 at 8:05 am

    follow your dreams cathy¡hugs¡

  11. Alison Rhem
    April 11, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Thank you, that’s it just thank you. These stories are breaking and mending my heart.

  12. Rhonda
    April 11, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    What a wonderful story,Cathy! Just goes to show that we can all help each other,even if we have never met!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

