Home > Kevin Stories > Kevin Sorbo: “thank you for your story… touched my heart…”

Kevin Sorbo: “thank you for your story… touched my heart…”

Such a touching story from Sandy in Maryland. I’m sure you will love it as much as I did!

On January 1, 1993 I was very happy. I was married to a wonderful man with two sons under the age of two. I had managed to get through some serious personal health problems and was doing well.

A couple of weeks later my husband had his first heart attack; Jim spent the next two years in and out of the hospital. I was alone with two young sons. My mom was 600 miles away in Indiana. Having moved to Maryland to marry Jim, I could count on one hand the friends that I had.

After 15 months of this I was holding on by a thread. I once again had taken Jim to the hospital with chest pain. The worst part was my knowing that my sons were aware (that) something was wrong. I got them fed and in bed. I sat on the couch crying, wanting to scream. I turned on the T.V. to hear something other than my own thoughts, and heard the words: “This is the story of a time long ago…”

I spent the next two hours in another time, another place. I smiled, I laughed, I cried, I laughed some more, and I decided things could be worse: I didn’t have a goddess after me. I looked forward to every HTLJ (“Hercules: The Legenday Journeys”) movie and episode. When I was going to miss an episode my darling Jim recorded it.

Somehow watching Hercules and Iolaus fight their battles against Hera and the other gods helped me have the strength I needed to take care of my family. It was a laugh-filled fantasy escape. Lovely scenery, and lovely men to look at helped also. (Yes, I am a big fan of understatement as well.)

I bought the DVDs on the day of release for each season. I watched “Andromeda,” but was not active in Sorbo fandom because I was working full time as well as raising our boys and being married. 

Once again we were going through a bit of a rough time, so I pulled out the HTLJ DVDs to watch as a break from job hunting. After watching them all, I went on the internet. I found the wonderful fan-made videos. Kevin’s Official website pointed me to Twitter. Then the Sorbo Media site was launched, and fans could actually email Kevin.

I have always thought that it was important to say “thank you” every chance you get and let people know when they have made a difference in your life. I emailed Kevin a shortened version of the story of my husband’s heart attack and how HTLJ had helped me get through a tough time, and that my husband recovered, and (that) this year we would be married 20 years.

I was very happy to get the following in my email sometime later:

“thank you for your story, sandy, touched my heart. I got into acting to hopefully touch people in some way, you have verified that. many thanks.

“congrats on 20 years together.

“best,

“kevin”

What I did not realize was that I would soon have something else to thank Kevin for… the worldwide network of wonderful fans that he has helped create; wonderful folks who are as caring and nutty as he is.

So once again, Kevin… Thank you.

  1. teresa
    May 16, 2010 at 4:57 am

    Sandy nice story …. a hug.

  2. May 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

    very beautiful story, my dear. many thanks

  3. May 16, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Oh what a lovely story, Sandy. Lord bless you and your husband!
    Kevin does that…he gets inside our souls and settles there.
    TRADUÇÃO: http://kevinsorbo.forumotion.com/only-kevin-sorbo-f1/sorbo-writer-cia-como-me-tornei-fa-de-kevin-sorbo-t161-375.htm#24897

  4. Alison Rhem
    May 16, 2010 at 11:43 am

    No, Sandy you never d id tell me this story. I’m so glad that you were able to share it. It touched my heart.

  5. May 17, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Oh, it´s a touching story. Thanks for sharing it! This story touched all our hearts!

  6. May 23, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  7. Sandy Johnson
    May 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for all of the positive comments. Kevin and his fans still helps me get through each and every day.

  8. rhondagemini
    June 1, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    Thanks,Sandy,for sharing your story-it’s very touching. Kevin was kind enough to send me a message of encouragement when my mom died last year. He really is a very caring guy! Thanks for posting this,Jan!

  1. May 16, 2010 at 4:31 am

Leave a Reply

