Home > Kevin Convention, Kevin Stories > Kevin Sorbo: “Stop sweating on me!!” (a taste of Shore Leave)

Kevin Sorbo: “Stop sweating on me!!” (a taste of Shore Leave)

Wow! I just returned from the great Shore Leave Convention that occurred near Baltimore, Maryland, this past weekend, July 9-11. Met some fantastic Kevin fans, did some hanging out, had lots and lots of fun, and, of course, pestered the Big Guy himself, Kevin! Sweet!

I will provide a full report in the next few days, so keep watching. Can’t guarantee photos because my stupid digital camera failed! If you have any pics or stories you’d like to share, please contact me and I will post them here. I think we would all love to see a nice Shore Leave gallery, yes?

OK, to get you in the mood for what’s to come, I offer you this: a short post about Kevin and my “Hercules: TLJ” baseball hat about which I wrote previously and that I have retired this year.

I took it with me to show Kevin how worn it is because it’s been my favorite hat since I bought it during the “Herc” years. It’s torn along the edges and brim, and is covered with sweat and dirt. Ew! I carried it in a plastic bag, not wanting him to touch it due to its disgusting condition.

Well, he looked at it then removed it from the bag to examine it closer. Oh, man! What a brave guy! Before I knew it, he had a marker in his hand and signed the brim. I did not expect that, but if you read my previous post, you will see that I thought about asking him to do so, then declined because of the sweat stains!

Check out his words and signature… Too funny! In case you can’t read them, he wrote: “Jan! Stop sweating on me!! XX Kevin Sorbo”

I am currently hunting for an affordable baseball hat display case to give it a safe, new home in which I can see it always and be reminded of one of the best weekends EVER! But, geez, they are so expensive… 😦

That’s it for now… Thanks to all who made this a fantastic event: the Shore Leave staff and volunteers, vendors, speakers, guests, fans, my pals (Sue, Gina, Chris, Sandy, Hermie, and Val), the Davis Family whose reunion at our hotel was fun and exciting and who welcomed us like family, and, I cannot and will not forget the amazing Mr. Kevin Sorbo!!!!

(Photos provided by my good friends Pat and Kim at The Photography Center)

  1. July 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Sweating on Kevin? Jan…you naughty girl! Isn´t he an angel? Waiting for more, woman! Thank you for now!

  2. teresa
    July 13, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Jan amusing story with his cap .. jajjaaja
    I’m anxious to see photos of all.
    a big hug.

  3. sorbowriter
    July 13, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Oh, my friends, angel is not the WORD! How gracious, kind, personable, and intelligent he is… And funny, too! But, isn’t that what we love best about him?? 🙂

  4. July 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    My most sincere congratulations to you Jan. You did it! I am really really happy for you and that you loved the experience =))

  5. Rhonda
    July 13, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    What a great story,Jan! Love what he wrote on the cap-I hope you can find the perfect display case to put it in! You definitely don’t want to ruin that awesome message!

  6. July 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Was great fun Jan and I’m so thrilled we all went and got to meet…. LOVE YA HON!!!!

  7. Alison Rhem
    July 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Great story, Jan. Waiting with baited breathe for more, you are such a tease, lol.

  8. sorbert
    July 14, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Glad you had fun Jan! Congrats on getting the hat signed!! 😀

  9. July 14, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Ok Jan, you can breathe now lol. What a perfect story, how did you stay standing?!? I’ll be watching for more details, and congrats on meeting the “other” Boss! That display case you’re looking for? Why don’t I just “hold” the cap for you till you find one eh? I don’t mind a little sweat on behalf of Kevin!

  10. July 19, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Great report sweets, happy to hear that you have so much. You are so right about Kevin, he is absolut sweetheart.
    Thanks for the report and the pictures.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

