Home > Friends Stories, Kevin Convention > I said to Kevin Sorbo, “…can you kiss it to make it better?”

I said to Kevin Sorbo, “…can you kiss it to make it better?”

My Shore Leave report part 1:

Gina and her husband Chris arrived at my house Thursday evening. We ate, and continued to be psyched for Shore Leave! Gina and I didn’t sleep much with the prospect of seeing Kevin.

Friday morning we loaded the War Wagon and headed toward Baltimore, Maryland, where we would meet Sue and Sandy with whom we were staying. We encountered blinding rain, traffic, a couple of accidents, and some idiot gabbing on his cell phone who almost hit my car.

We arrived at the hotel to discover that Sue beat us there and was already at the con. Gina, Chris and I unloaded our luggage and found our room where we commenced to unpack. Along the way I discovered the hotel’s bar, which wasn’t open for another few hours.

Sue returned to the room, and she, Gina, and I drove across the street to check in at the con. She said she didn’t see Kevin there, but we wanted to get our badges and all the necessities to save time on Saturday.

At the con hotel we hopped on the elevator and traversed to the floor where they were dispensing con information. The elevator doors opened and who should be standing there???

“It’s Kevin!” I shrieked from behind Gina’s wheelchair like a star-struck schoolgirl. Honestly… as shrill as fans screaming for the Beatles on “The Ed Sullivan Show”! Poor Kevin…

Sandy and Hermie were nearby, thankfully, so I rushed out of the elevator to hug them with a glance back to see if Gina was OK. She was in Kevin’s capable hands, so I think she was fine! Meanwhile, I tried to hide myself and my embarrassment by talking to our friends. Oh, man… There are words for how I felt at that moment that I won’t use here, but you can imagine! D’oh…

Kevin departed, and we all caught up with the day’s events. Hermie was Kevin’s handler and had a busy afternoon. Sandy volunteered for the con, so hadn’t had the chance to check in with us or at the hotel. We were hungry and grabbed some grub at one of the hotel cafés where we took pictures and got better acquainted.

Back at our hotel a bit later, Gina, Sandy, and Sue were glad that I had found the bar earlier, so we relaxed in its pleasant, quiet atmosphere. Sue danced on the table, Sandy sang sea shanties (say THAT three times quickly!), and Gina made passes at all the cute guys as I sat meekly watching. HAHAHA! Just kidding… We had fun.

Saturday came and we shoveled the hotel’s free breakfast into our faces and went to the con, anxious to see the Man of the Hour, Kevin. The weather was hot and rainy, but no one cared… It’s Kevin, for heaven’s sake!!!

We found him at his autograph table laughing, joking, telling stories, greeting fans, and signing autographs. I wanted to shrink to the size of a walnut, having embarrassed myself the day before. But the gang dragged me along and threatened, THREATENED, I tell you! me with dire consequences if I didn’t say, “hello,” to Kevin. How could I refuse that??

Courage mustered I got on line at his table with my little baseball hat (see previous posts) and best deer-in-the-headlights face. I thought I would lose my breakfast… Luckily, that didn’t happen! When it was almost my turn I looked for an escape route, but my dear pals had blocked all exits and hired extra security to keep me in tow. What are friends for?!

Suddenly, the guy beside me left and I was face-to-face with the Big Guy, who was seated in front of me. I think I said something like, “Hi, boss, I’m Jan….” and I don’t remember what else. He strode around the table with outstretched arms and gave me a big hug. Wasn’t that nice? I didn’t know quite what to do. How many women wouldn’t know what to do in that situation??? Only me, I’m afraid… D’oh, again…

I showed him my hat – you know the story. We chatted a little, not wanting to hold up the line, which had grown quite long; Kevin’s a popular guy, as we all know.

Prior to meeting him, Sue bet me 10 bucks I wouldn’t say a certain thing to him that she proposed. Hey, 10 bucks is 10 bucks! So, I told him at some point, “I busted my a** to get here, can you kiss it to make it better?” I think Kevin laughed, but I’m not sure since I was turning to Sue on my right to collect my winnings. HA! I then joined the others to wait for a few hours until our photo-op with him.

  1. Rhonda
    July 18, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Funny story,Jan-can’t wait for part 2!

  2. July 19, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Jan, by the way you write I can figure myself in there with you all.
    So…you asked Kevin to kiss your a…. ?
    Brave lady! Very funny, darling, thank you! Waiting for more, more…

  3. sorbowriter
    July 19, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Let’s put it this way, Mara… I HOPE he laughed!!! Lots more to come!

  4. July 21, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    When she walked up and said “Hi I’m Jan” or however you worded it Hon,I was sitting off to the side watching both of them,Kevin stood up with his arms wide and a big smile, as he walked around the table to give her a big hug and said, “Finally!” Then he gave her a hug and went back to his seat to sign an autograph for her.The rest of her story is exactly like she wrote it, she was trying to escape and hide though, I thought for sure we were going to have to tie her hands to my wheelchair handles, so she couldn’t get away. LOL Just kidding Jan… actually I thought you were pretty brave all three days. Well… Except for getting out of the elevator on Friday,ladies it wasn’t as bad as she makes it sound and she went to hide behind Sandy and Hermie, so she didn’t even talk to Kevin on Friday. Then as we were about to leave, after getting our badges and checking in, Kevin and Hermie were going up the escalator and I was looking at my camera. Jan was poking me in the arm trying to get my attention, but she didn’t say anything, then she smacked my arm a few times, so I looked up just in time to barely see them at the top of the escalator. She kept saying, “I was trying to get your attention so you could see him.” I said, “Well you could have said something rather than poke and hit my arm.” LOL It was just too funny. Truly though we did have a lot of fun all of us… Jan, Sue, Sandy and I had a great time sitting the the hotel bar, talking and getting to know each other. Great report Jan all of them so far…. LOVE & HUGS!!!

  5. sorbowriter
    July 21, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    LOL, Gina!!!!

  6. sorbowriter
    July 21, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Oh, yes, and I have been DYING to say this since Friday at the con… “Badges? We don’t need no stinking badges!” A line from Mel Brooks’ fabulous 1974 film, Blazing Saddles, that parodied the quote from the classic 1948 movie, Treasure of Sierra Madre: “Badges? We ain’t got no badges. We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinkin’ badges!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

