Home > Friends Stories, Kevin Convention > Kevin Sorbo looked down his T-shirt… “You want THAT for free?”

Kevin Sorbo looked down his T-shirt… “You want THAT for free?”

My Shore Leave report part 2:

We cruised around looking at stuff and talking to people. Gina accidently ran over my toes with her wheelchair several times, and I accidently pushed her into a wall a couple of times. I hoped this wouldn’t impair my impeccable driving record since I drive the same way on the highway!

Finally, photo-op time approached and Sandy, Sue, and I deposited Gina at the head of the line then took our places at the end. Fortunately, we arrived fairly early and didn’t really wait long. The line moved quickly, and there I was face-to-face with the Big Guy again. Man, he’s tall! I felt like a Liliputian! We (I) decided to have a funny photo, which I will NEVER post despite that he said I would. I should have bet him 100 bucks I wouldn’t… like shooting fish a barrel, and I would have a nice C-note to buy more pics! HA! Or contribute to WFIT.

Photos done, Sandy, Sue, and I walked toward the café, accidently leaving Gina at the photo room (not for long) because our heads were still in the clouds! Nice friends… We ate again and took more pictures of each other and things for sale at the con. We managed to kill some time before retrieving our photos to have Kevin sign them.

Gina bought a cool Hercules doll from one of the vendors. It was the larger one for which she had been searching for some time, and was very happy to have found it. She showed it to Kevin when we returned to his table, and he told us how it was made from leftover bodies of another action figure. Sounds a bit like Frankenstein to me… Herkenstein?

We hung around Kevin for a while later after he autographed our photo-op pics. I bought another photo that was just too gorgeous to pass up. It has a lovely sepia tone with beautiful contrast, textures, lighting, and other artsy terms, and, of course, Kevin. He signed it: “To Jan – Read my mind….. XX  Kevin”  For those speculating what he meant, I don’t know, but my guess is, “Who IS this crazy woman and why is she bugging me?”

The time for his Q&A arrived, and we rushed to get good seats and test our cameras. I will write a special post about both Saturday and Sunday sessions in the near future. They were very interesting and too funny! He’s a great speaker. Everyone really enjoyed them.

Kevin remained a bit longer after his Q&A talking to fans, signing more pictures, etc., and we left for dinner and drinks. The wonderful Davis Family held their reunion at our hotel, and we met such lovely, kind people. We decided we wanted to be part of their family, and they obliged. Very cool!

Sadly, the last day dawned and we packed our gear before heading to breakfast. The con was less crowded, so we pestered Kevin for a good part of the day, or so it seemed to me. He talked about the business, movies, and other topics, which, unfortunately, I could not hear very well, so you will need to ask Gina, Sandy, or Sue what he said. We went to lunch and returned to bother him again, but Hermie said he had gone to try to get his Q&A time changed so he could catch an earlier flight. Sweet! That meant less traffic for those of us who drove.

Sandy, Sue, and I walked to the main table to see if they had posted Kevin’s new time, which they hadn’t. As we turned the corner toward the café a wall of gorgeousness met us in the hallway, and asked, “What’s up, guys?” Sandy explained what we were doing, and Kevin said that he was still trying to reschedule. I was very happy about that since my trip home promised to be as harrowing as the trip there if I waited too much longer. He chatted with us a bit and returned to his table. We continued along the corridor and I thought Sandy would faint! She stopped and sighed with the biggest smile you ever saw, and declared, “He stopped US! Kevin stopped US to talk to US!” That was so funny and cute; I know she is still dreaming of that, right Sandy?

Kevin’s Q&A began and we had better seats this time. He spoke for an hour on Saturday and 30 minutes on Sunday. He did his best radio voice, segued into Bill Cosby’s Noah skit from the hilarious album, “Right,” and, of course, answered questions. We all learned much and loved listening to his jokes and stories. He really knows how to capture an audience. What a multi-faceted guy! Am I gushing too much???

At one point someone asked if he was still buff. He laughed and discussed his past and current exercise routines. He then looked down his T-shirt and said that he’s still solid. We wanted to see it, so many of us in the audience shouted for him to show us.

“You want THAT for free?” he asked, grinning.

This was when I wanted to wave some cash in the air. Missed opportunity!!! But we all know I couldn’t afford THAT… HAHAHA!

Too soon the con was over. We all headed home with happy memories of new friends, funny stories, less money, and more Kevin. Gina and Chris stayed at my house Sunday night. We sat on my patio and grilled some burgers and hot dogs. They departed on Monday, and I commenced to get good photos of my hat, find a secure place for my treasures, and try to gather my thoughts.

Whew! What a whirlwind! My head is still spinning, and I have lots to do in order to bring you a nice overview of Kevin’s interesting, informative and entertaining Q&As. Watch for it soon!

Thanks again to everyone who made Shore Leave and the entire weekend unforgettable. I KNOW I won’t forget!

And, thanks, Kevin, you’re one cool dude!

  1. July 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Oh Jan…. do I have to tell the story of you saying you were bothering him too much and apologizing to him? LOL Great report and Gods I look horrible… a beached whale LOL… Someone call the Coast Gaurd to though me back in the sea LOL

  2. sorbowriter
    July 21, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    You look lovely! Sheesh! And, yes, I think you should tell the story here… (hint! hint!) Can’t wait for your report and love the stuff on your blog so far!

  3. Rhonda
    July 21, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Great story,Jan! Sounds like you all had a really good time! Look forward to your report on the Q&A sessions!

  4. July 22, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Gina, you look a happy sweet lady, darling! Don´t say those things about yourself! Jan, thank you so much for your great report, darling!

  5. Carmen
    July 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    You all look great and I just loved the report! Thank you so much darlings! Hugs!

  6. maria
    July 22, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I watch on Hercules series from old years. I see all epeisodies again and again..

  7. July 23, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Waiting for the Q&A part, darling!

  8. Anne
    August 2, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Glad to hear the three of you had a great time. The stories were funny & I look forward to the Q&A.

  9. Alison Rhem
    February 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Still wish I could have been with you girls. Glad you could follow your dream.

  10. February 7, 2011 at 2:55 am

    You go Kevin Sorbo keep looking beyond the furthest star!

  1. July 24, 2010 at 8:35 am

Leave a Reply

