Home > Kevin Stories > Having to stare at the picture of Kevin Sorbo for 3 weeks… I was hooked.

Having to stare at the picture of Kevin Sorbo for 3 weeks… I was hooked.

Our Glyn in the U.K. is best known to Kevin’s fandom for her great sense of humor and hilarious, sometimes rude, jokes, which I love! Here’s her entertaining tale of her introduction to Kevin that involves Herc and her husband, Steve. Check out the pics… Can you tell which is which??? 😉

I’m afraid my story of how I came to be a fan of Kevin Sorbo is rather a frivoulous one.

For a few years a friend of mine had been nagging me to get my husband to dress as Hercules for the annual Christmas Fancy Dress party. In October, 2007, I decided to have a go at making the famous waistcoat, thinking I could have it done by December. I had never really watched “Hercules,” although at that time it was being shown Monday to Friday at 5.00 p.m., and hubby was an avid fan. By the time I got home from work there was only 15 minutes left of the show, so, I never bothered watching. (My bad, huh!!)

Anyway, hubby Steve was okay with the idea of being a demi-god for the party, so, it was “all systems go.” He managed to get a very large single piece of chamois leather (the stuff you polish cars with), so, I set to work. Needless to say, at this point I had to watch the episodes to get the design and plaits of leather in the right place. I printed a picture (from) the internet, and, boy-oh-boy, that was the clincher!!! Having to stare at the picture of Kevin for three weeks while stitching (by hand-ouch!!), that was it, I was hooked. By the time it was finished, just in time for the party, I had bought the “Andromeda” box sets and had ordered the “Hercules” DVDs.

If I do say so myself the waistcoat is a pretty accurate copy, despite breaking a dozen needles and trying not to bleed on the leather.

Since the party, hubby has had a belt and gauntlets made, and I’ve customized a pair of knee-length boots, but, best of all, he’s grown his hair to Herc length ;o)… something I’d been nagging him to do for years… Thanks, Herc.

We do costume events for charity; Hercules and Xena make a nice change from dressing as Klingons – less make-up and no latex foreheads!!!

Hugs!

Glyn

  1. teresa
    February 10, 2011 at 3:24 am

    funny :)))

  2. mara
    February 10, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Oh this is a really fun story, Glyn, THANK YOU for sharing!
    Your hubby looks great!
    Thank you Jan for posting!

  3. Viviane Gomes
    February 10, 2011 at 8:20 am

    Sua história não tem nada de simples, Glyn. è simplesmente linda!!! Obrigada por nos contar!

    Her story is nothing simple, Glyn. is just beautiful!!! Thank you for telling us!

  4. Rhonda
    February 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    WOW! What a story,Glyn! If Kevin didn’t already have a stunt double for Hercules,your husband would have been perfect!!

  5. February 13, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Man, Sorbo fans are the most interesting people on earth lol.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

