Home > Kevin Stories > Kevin Sorbo was a great person and someone really easy-going…

Kevin Sorbo was a great person and someone really easy-going…

This fantastic story comes from our friend Sandra in Spain. I love her literary and film references. And she met Kevin more than once! Lucky gal…

My story begins when one day my eyes provided the first images of a series produced by my admired Sam Raimi. I remembered the style of the director on the movie, Army of Darkness.

The character was based on the mythological character of Heracles (that) I had read on the book of Euripides: Mad Heracles. Here’s a snippet:

Heracles: “Hear me a moment, that I may enter the lists with words in answer to thy admonitions; and I will unfold to thee why life now as well as formerly has been unbearable to me. First, I am the son of a man who incurred the guilt of blood, before he married my mother, Alcmena, by slaying her aged sire. Now, when the foundation is badly laid at birth, needs must the race be cursed with woe; and Zeus, whoever this Zeus may be, begot me as a butt for Hera’s hate; yet, be not thou vexed thereat, old man; for thee rather than Zeus do I regard as my father. Then whilst I was yet being suckled, that bride of Zeus did foist into my cradle fearsome snakes to compass my death.

“After I was grown to man’s estate, of all the toils I then endured what need to tell? Of all the lions, Typhon’s triple-bodied and giants that I slew; or of the battle I won against the hosts of four-legged Centaurs? Or how when I had killed the hydra, that monster with a ring of heads with power to grow again, I passed through countless other toils besides and came unto the dead to fetch to the light at the bidding of Eurystheus, the three-headed hound, hell’s porter. Last, ah, woe is me have I perpetrated this bloody deed to crown the sorrows of my house with my children’s murder.”

For those who like to read these stories of our hero I also recommend the book by Hesiod: Theogony, Works and Days, Shield.

From literature I began to get interested (in) the character of Hercules, and that after seeing some versions of the person played by Steve Reeves at the time of Peplum films and the brilliant (cinematic artist) Ray Harryhausen, Jason and the Argonauts or Clash of the Titans, I got surprised when I noticed that the actor they had chosen to play Hercules, Kevin Sorbo, was not bad at all.

During the six years of the show, which, by the way, were very poorly aired on the television broadcast of my country, I could be able to enjoy one of the most entertaining series I’ve ever seen.

We know that there were many ways to develop better special effects, but there is no doubt that the show created a new mark on adventure shows on television. After 15 years I still enjoy the stories and beautiful shots in New Zealand with those fairy-tale landscapes.

If I had already been hooked by the landscapes, and the series had already stolen my heart, you can figure how I felt when I had the opportunity to meet the actor in person. That does not happen every day. So good that there are conventions that grant series fans the opportunity to meet players in person.

Actually, the first impression I got from Kevin was that he was a great person and someone really easy-going, not the usual cocky actor who posed for the photo. I remember the first picture I took with him dressed in my T-shirt, “S” for Superman, and how fun it all went by.

You start to admire him as an actor, but then you realize that, ultimately, we are all people, and the only thing that differentiates us is that he is engaged to act and (that) you can go on being in an office answering the phone.

But, then the fans cannot help but having the desire to learn some little details about his children and family, like we say in Spain…

My second time with Kevin was at another convention. I enjoyed “Fedcon” like a little girl on those days where we met again in Bonn, Germany. Kevin was, as usual, charming and always in a good mood.

My last stop was in Ghent, Belgium, where in a kind of industrial building we did not have the opportunity to be a lot with him, but the little time we got beside him, Kevin was very attentive, and dedicated (to) us a couple of smiles and cheek kisses. Plus, (he) gave me the opportunity to meet more fans of Kevin and practice my French.

Unlike other fans fond of Kevin, my view is very different: I’m studying film to become (an) editor and, to tell you (the) truth, the world of film is more complex than it seems… And I also meet actors who say they get full time work, but only a few work professionally. And at least Kevin is working all the time.

Someday, I hope to edit a film or series, and is very easy to dream. Who would think that one day I would get to meet the actor who played Hercules, and even realize that he is a worthwhile person?

  1. teresa
    April 16, 2011 at 7:46 am

    if, sandra, kevin is a worthwhile person.
    I wish with all my heart that your dreams come true.

  2. Sandi
    April 16, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Love the top picture, especially the flowers next to him. Miss Hercules but eventually you have to move on but I will always remember those days. Best of Luck to all!

  3. mara
    April 16, 2011 at 9:41 am

    I completely agree with dear Sandra! I can figure how she feels! Great report, darling!
    TRADUÇÃO: http://kevinsorbo.forumotion.com/t161p600-sorbowriter-cia-como-me-tornei-fa-de-kevin-sorbo#29909

  4. Rhonda
    April 16, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Great story,Sandra! Love the literary references and I might try to find the book you referred to.

  5. Anne
    April 17, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Having met Kevin on several occasions, I can vouch for the part about him being a very down-to-earth, easy going family man. I’ve enjoyed his work as an actor, but come to appreciate the kind of person he is away from the cameras.

    Gracias, Sandra, for your story. Good luck in your future studies. I’m sure you’ll do well.

    • teresa
      April 20, 2011 at 10:26 am

      :)))

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

