Home > Friends Stories > Kevin Sorbo in cross-stitch… It is certainly worth it in the end.

Kevin Sorbo in cross-stitch… It is certainly worth it in the end.

If you have been following this blog, you will remember that our lovely friend Sally in the UK designed an amazing cross-stitch of Kevin as Dylan Hunt in “Andromeda” several months ago about which we have excitedly kept abreast.

Well, everyone, she finished it! And the final piece is so cool that we just had to know her final thoughts about it. Here’s her story. Enjoy!

Kevin Sorbo cross-stitch story #2:

Fifteen thousand stitches and just over a year later I placed the final stitch onto Kevin Sorbo. I couldn’t believe the relief or the excitement of finally seeing Kevin finished. I have to admit, seeing him finished was the proudest moment so far in the (just coming up to) six years I’ve been stitching.

It was a lot of on-and-off stitching to be honest. At the beginning of 2010 I didn’t have all of the 47 colours that I needed, so I was limited to what I could do. For that reason alone I placed the project into my cupboard.

When I got him back out, I worked on him for a while. With Mother’s Day and a birthday coming up I put Kevin aside to work on presents and cards. Then mid-April we lost my sister Emma. I designed and stitched a memorial that was displayed throughout the service, so Kevin had to take a backseat for a while.

After that I worked on him for a while again. Knowing another birthday was coming up, I put Kevin aside one more time to work on the present. By this time just over half of Kevin was done. Unfortunately, the present wasn’t finished in time for the birthday, so I worked on a “Plan B.”

Christmas was around the corner, and I worked on another present. Both presents were turned into cushions.

After Christmas I solidly worked on Kevin (and) in mid-January the final stitch was done. The finished piece stayed on my floor stand for just under a day until I decided how I was going to “finish-finish” him. I decided to make him into a cushion. About eight hours later the cushion was finished.

Sometimes the Kevin cushion sits on my pillow. Others he is placed on a shelf where I can look at it.

It’s one of those things that looks better from a distance. All the different colours and shades really blend well together. You can lose interest in it after a while with all the colour changes and even the amount of stitching involved, but it is certainly worth it in the end.

It certainly is, Sally. What beautiful art! Thank you so much for sharing your journey.

  1. teresa
    May 5, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Sally you have done is wonderful.
    thanks for sharing with us.

  2. mara
    May 5, 2011 at 7:06 am

    WOW! looks great, indeed! Thank you for sharing, darling!

  3. Rhonda
    May 5, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I love the Kevin stitch project-very cool! Sally,I commend you on your hard work-the beautiful results were certainly worth it!

  4. Sandi
    May 5, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Sally did a great job especially with sticking to it, I remember when I started a hook rug project of a leopard cub and I abandoned it but then pitched in in the trash but that was when I was in high school. What a great story of dedication.

  5. sorbert
    May 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Thanks for the comments about the cross stitch. Just which all of you could see it in real life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

