Home > Friends Stories, Kevin Book > This deep male voice came on the phone and said, “It’s Kevin Sorbo here.”

This deep male voice came on the phone and said, “It’s Kevin Sorbo here.”

Here’s the second part to Gina’s previous story about seeing Kevin at the Twin Cities Book Festival in Minneapolis, Minnesota: Ali’s phone conversation with Kevin…

For any of my friends that have not been on Twitter recently, I have a little story to tell…

Gina went to Kevin’s (Twin Cities) book signing and had advised me to have my phone ready. I thought she might try to get Kevin to talk to me via the phone, but I didn’t think he would have the time since we all know how busy the man is. So, Gina was tweeting away and told us to hush tweeting her ‘cause it was her turn with Kevin.

We stopped tweeting, and time went by and the phone never rang, so I had given up on it happening and thought, “Who knows, maybe Gina will pick me up a signed book ‘cause she knows there is no way I could afford one with me not having a job at this time.”

Then the phone rang and it was Gina. She talked for a bit and then started fumbling with the phone and told me to hang on. I heard her talking in the background and I figured she was asking her hubby, Chris, to hold the phone. Then this deep male voice came on the phone and said, “Hi, Ali.” I figured it was Chris pretending for a joke, so I said, “Hello.” And the voice came back and said, “It’s Kevin Sorbo here.”

“No, really?” I said. “I had to hear you speak again just to make sure it was your voice.”

“Yep, it’s my voice. I haven’t sold it yet,” he chuckled. At this point I was stunned. I knew he mentioned he was at the book signing and he asked me if I was freezing up in Canada yet. I replied with, and I believe I was squeaking by this time, that I wasn’t freezing yet, but would be getting winter soon, and that he must sell his voice because we all love it. (I know, stupid thing to say.) He asked how my family and I were doing and I answered with I don’t know what. I believe I was in the Sorbo Haze by that time. He said he just wanted to say, “Hi,” and an early Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, and to take care of myself. I think I said “Thank you,” but I can’t be sure.

After I got off the phone with Kevin I couldn’t type or speak at this point. So, using an old tried-and-try method I took my stick and pounded on the floor three times. (It’s a code between my husband Gerry and I that I need him.)

Gerry had been doing well that that day and was quite aware of what was going on around him. This meant he was able to come up the stairs without much difficulty. He entered the room to find me with my hands clasped over my face and my eyes wide. He looked at me and said with a smile on his face, “You talked to Kevin, didn’t you??”

All I could do was nod my head.

“You don’t need to talk,” he said. He came around the side of the bed, sat down, and gave me a big hug. “I know how important this is to you.”

He patted me on the back and held me for a while.

Once I was coherent again, he knew it was safe to leave me.

I then went on Twitter to let the Sorbo Sisters know what had happened. My first tweet was, “Guess who I just talked to? WOW! WOW! WOW!”

Nobody answered me fast enough. So, I tweeted again to get their attention.

“I just got off the phone with… KEVIN SORBO”

Still, no answer, so, I tweeted one more time.

“Someone talk to me and tell me I ain’t dreaming, for godsake!”

Twitter exploded.

I had questions thrown at me left, right, and center. People just kept coming on and throwing questions at me and asking me what was going on (and) what did he say. Finally, I decided to write it on Facebook so everybody could see it.

I added the link on Twitter and everybody just kept talking about it. Seemed like hours. I sent a special Tweet: “Just wanted to say thank you to @GinaNyxx and @ksorbs for making a dream come true. I spoke to Kevin Sorbo on the phone, WoW! WOW! WOW!”

So, for any of you out there that have doubted if Kevin can really be that nice, I am here to say that he can and is. Three cheers to an actor who can be that nice to a lifelong fan. I hope you all get the chance that I have had. I hope to get out of the Sorbo Haze in the next year, lol.

Picture reads:  TO ALISON!   HEY YOU!   LOVE & HUGS   TO ALLEYCAT!   XXX     KEVIN SORBO

Book reads:    TO ALISON  I WILL SHOW YOU TRUE STRENGTH    XX

(Photos by Ali)

  1. teresa
    November 9, 2011 at 3:28 am

    fantastic,ali:)big hug for you:)

  2. mara
    November 9, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Thank you so much for sharing this, dear Jan, Gina and ali, it´s really lovely, I´m moved!

  3. November 9, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Thanks for the story, Ali! Most of all I like how our husbands reacted to our madness about Kevin. 🙂

  4. Rhonda
    November 9, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Great story,Ali! I know you’ll remember that phone call forever!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

