Home > Interviews > A Veteran’s Day tribute: Steve Azar’s Soldier Song

A Veteran’s Day tribute: Steve Azar’s Soldier Song

Please remember not just today on Veteran’s Day, but always, our military personnel who serve and have served the United States valiantly with strength and honor. Here’s singer-songwriter Steve Azar’s story about his inspiration for writing his poignant “Soldier Song.” A portion of its sales proceeds support Jared Allen’s Homes 4 Wounded Warriors.

I didn’t think anybody would hear the “Soldier Song.” I did that for an auction item at a charity event. Somebody wanted me to write something about the troops, and I had about a year to do it.

I was out on the road with (Bob) Seger for seven months and I couldn’t come home much because each tour is a day on and a day off. (Seger) would jet in and out and I was on the bus, so when you were on the bus you had to stay there.

It was my first time to be not in control of my tour schedule – and I love my family. I love being with them. I have a great wife; we’ve been buddies for a lot of years, and our kids are growing up. I just need a little dose of them at a time to make sure, and after being gone for weeks and weeks at a time and not getting to have the means to get home real quick because I couldn’t do it because I had no time in most cases.

Then I started seeing a lot about our soldiers in the news and how long they’re gone. There was a guard that was gone for the first time for a year, and I was goin’, “Oh, my God, I’ve been gone three weeks and I got to at least see (my family) for 15 hours. These guys are gone for a year? And I’m not being shot at.”

The worry is nothing. My version of being gone is wimpy. Theirs truly had great merit and is heroic. To me, the heroes are not only our servicemen and women over there, it’s the families that have to truly move and get along without them and with that stress and worry.

And then I went back and visited Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and I saw these kids; I call them kids because they’re kids, with arms (and) legs gone. This sort of reminded me of St. Jude’s, how they still had this smile, and it was amazing, but it was so moving and touching. That’s what sort of got me to write “Soldier Song.” I just left there and it sort of wrote itself, to be honest with you.

Here are the “Soldier Song” touching lyrics:

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

To you and the kids the life I’ve missed

To no more nights alone… no more

To my little boy’s last baseball game

To my baby girl’s first school day

I swear I’ll never miss church as long as I live

Baby, I know it’s late, please pick up the phone

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

I hope and pray when you got lonely

You thought of me and you got proud

I can’t believe a year’s gone by and all I’ve done is fight

Oh, I can’t wait to come back home and put away my gun, do nothin’ but love

Start again, if we can, where it was…

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

To you and the kids the life I missed

To no more nights alone

(no more nights alone)

To my little boy’s wearin’ daddy pants

My first father-daughter dance

I’m tired and I did here all that I can do

Baby, I know it’s late, please pick up the phone

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

I’ve seen tears I wish I never saw

Held myself together at times by string and a straw

Howd’ya make it with so much to do with us so far apart

And could you feel my heart break every night without you in my arms… I don’t want that no more… no more… no more… baby

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

To you and the kids the life I missed

To no more nights alone

To wrestlin’ round with my little boy

Singin’ a lullaby with my baby girl

I’m all packed up and I pray you still need me

Baby, I know it’s late, please pick up the phone

Your soldier’s finally comin’ home

Here’s Steve’s excellent video:

  1. Rhonda
    November 12, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Beautiful story and beautiful song!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

