Home > Kevin Stories > Kevin Sorbo’s Hercules helped earn my Classics & Archaeology degree

Kevin Sorbo’s Hercules helped earn my Classics & Archaeology degree

Wow! I have so many fantastic stories to post. Here’s one from our friend Jacqui in Scotland who tells us how she became a Kevin fan. Many thanks, Jacqui!

I first came across Kevin’s work in the late 1990s at a time when I was extremely bored with my life and work.

I had started to watch some “Hercules” episodes. I did not think much about them initially until the “The Marriage Swindler” episode in series II, particularly the part where Hercules is shot by Hera’s archers. The pain expressed by Kevin as Hercules was impressive, also, Michael Hurst’s expression of anguish from Iolaus for his friend. It was from this point that I started to pay closer attention.

The next episode of “Hercules” which sticks out in my memory is “…And Fancy Free” from season IV with the Twanky Twiddle. That episode was hilarious. I have watched it many times and still laugh.

It was because I was looking for something more interesting to do with my life that I decided to do an Access course at Glasgow University. The subjects I chose for this course were Classical Civilization and Social Anthropology. To my surprise I passed all exams and assessments with flying colours, and was given the opportunity to do an undergraduate degree. The subjects I chose were Classics and Archaeology. I gained my degree in Classics and Archaeology and it is, in part, due to watching “Hercules;” it reminded me of how much I had enjoyed classics when I was younger.

I did not see much of Kevin’s work from the time I started my degree in 2002 until 2010. I caught occasional episodes of “Andromeda,” but nothing else.

When I graduated with my second degree (Mediterranean Archaeology) at the end of 2009 I again found myself at a crossroads, what to do now? It was at this point I caught the last half of a film on TV – it was “Fire from Below.” Watching this reminded me of how much I had enjoyed “Hercules” and the few “Andromeda” episodes I had seen.

Since then I have been trying to catch up, and over the last 18 months have managed to watch the two “Walking Tall” films, “Never Cry Werewolf,” “Avenging Angel,” “Kull (the Conqueror),” “Prairie Fever,” “Tales of an Ancient Empire (Part I),” “Something Beneath” and “What If…” I have been impressed by Kevin’s talent and his ability to work well within a variety of genres.

I would like to thank Kevin for the entertainment he has provided over the years, allowing an escape from the everyday problems of normal life, and I look forward to many more years of Kevin’s work.

The only thing I can offer in return for this is to wish Kevin and his family every happiness, health and success for the future.

Regards,
Jacqueline Dennett MA (Hons), MLitt

  1. April 3, 2012 at 2:50 am

    Thanks Jan 🙂

  2. April 3, 2012 at 3:00 am

    Thanks Jan 🙂 Since this was written I’ve watched quite a few more films and completed the first series of Andromeda lol, not to mention I have read True Strength and I am in the process of listening to the audio book, which, I think brings it so much more to life.

    Thanks for all your hard work

    Jacqui

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

