Home > Friends Stories > Johnny Maestro and the Power of Music to Heal

Johnny Maestro and the Power of Music to Heal

This beautiful story from our dear friend Rhonda in Georgia isn’t Kevin-related… Instead,  it’s  a heartfelt sentiment that she wrote following her mother’s passing last February to which I think we can all relate. Our hearts and prayers continue to be with her and her family. God Bless, Rhonda, and thank you for sharing!

The Power of Music to Heal

13409044-mmmainI don’t recall where it came from, but someone once said that “music heals.” Over the last six months, I have learned just how true this is.

When I lost my mom in February, 2013, it left me emotionally drained, and I needed something to bring me peace and heal the hurt. That something turned out to be music… But, not just any music… It was the music of my youth, the songs I grew up listening to, the songs of the late 1950s and early 60s.

Not only did it bring the healing and peace that I so desperately needed, but it also brought back wonderful memories of happier times in my life.

It had been a long time since I had heard many of these songs, so, in a strange but beautiful way, it was like welcoming back old friends who had been gone for awhile.

One particular song from that time period has come to mean a great deal to me personally. The song is called, “You’ll Never Walk Alone.” I first remember hearing it in the movie, “Carousel” (written by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II). It speaks of hope and reassurance in the midst of life’s storms. I had heard it many times, but only in the last few years have I really understood what it meant. I’ve walked through many storms in recent times, but never once have I felt that I was alone during any of them. As this song so beautifully puts it: “Walk on with hope in your heart and you’ll never walk alone.”

It goes without saying, but for a song to bring healing, it has to have the right voice behind it. For me, that voice belongs to the late, great Johnny Maestro. For those of you not familiar with him, he was the lead singer of The Crests during the late 1950s and the frontman for The Brooklyn Bridge from its formation in 1968 until his death in 2010. From the 70s on, the abovementioned song was used by The Brooklyn Bridge to close their concerts.

I first heard his rendition back in the early part of the last decade, and was totally taken with the way he sang every word straight from his heart and in a very comforting way. I heard that same rendition on the group’s 40th anniversary CD earlier this year, and, honestly, it gave me chills. I have several of his CDs, and I play that song as often as I can – it helps me get through the day. And that is what music is supposed to do.

So, next time you are down, put on some of your favorite music and see what happens – I think you’ll find it very uplifting.

  1. rhondagemini
    February 1, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Thanks for posting my piece,Jan! The picture and video you selected are perfect! I hope this will help others who might need it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

